By Josh Schonfeld

Danish band, Gotta Go, looks to be getting their first hit in their native Denmark with their first single, “Sleepless Nights.”  It is a pulsing pop song that chugs along to an explosive chorus.  Perfect for long drives, “Sleepless Nights” is one of those songs that may not seem like a standout track until you can’t get it out of your head all weekend.  Trust me, I know from experience.

“Sleepless Nights” is a straight-forward pop melody that incorporates some of my favorite techniques to get me to love a song:  Mal-functioning stuttering? Check.  Snaps?  Check.  Subdued bridge with a dramatic pause into a burst of synths with a crescendo chorus?  Check check check.  Sure, the lyrics are a bit amateur, but that should be expected from non-native English speakers.  I can’t even imagine if I decided to write a song in the only foreign language I know, French (not like I could write a song in English either, but so what, who cares).

Gotta Go is gaining steam in Denmark and looks to be setting their sights on the rest of Scandinavia to make “Sleepless Nights” a major summer hit.  Can it travel across the pond to the United States?  I doubt it, but that doesn’t mean we can’t all enjoy it together anyways!  You’re welcome.

 

